3 Meals 1 Chicken

First blog post on the big www! It’s kinda scary opening up my life for anyone to see…but exciting to think of this sisterhood bringing hope and life to even one person, totally worth it…plus anything I get to do with my two big sisters is fun so I’m in!

I love good food…in and out of pregnancies for the last five years sometimes I like cooking, sometimes I don’t…but I always love eating. Since having kids, I am more aware than ever  what is going into my body and nourishing my 3 tubby toddlers and hard working hunk of a hubby. I’m always after simple, delicious and healthy meals that won’t break the budget, so I thought I’d share three of our go-tos with you…

Meal 1: Roast Chicken

Now I was going to put a recipe up, but let’s be real here…I never use the same roast chicken recipe ever, it changes based on the ingredients I have that week and what picture on Pinterest I’m salivating over at the time, so find a good one and go for it…This week I rubbed a good dose of herb/garlic butter under the skin and put a lemon and some thyme in the cavity before I tied her up. Roast potatoes in oil, salt & pepper for about 40 min and crank the heat while the roast chicken rests if they are not crispy enough. I also tossed some kale with the juices in my roasting pan for a quick salad before serving. Remember to save any leftover chicken (including bones) in a big pot for meals 2 & 3.

Meal 2: Roast Vegetable Salad

Pick all of the leftover chicken off of the carcass and leave the bones for making stock. Roast your favourite vegetables with oil, herbs, salt+pepper until tender and crispy. Toss with greens, and leftover chicken. Top with nuts and dressing and serve with a hunk of bread and cheese (we grilled up some Bri this time) Quick. Easy. Delish!

Meal 3: Thai Vegetable Soup

First make your stock…I throw chunks of onion, celery, carrot and garlic on top of my chicken bones. Add some parsley, thyme and peppercorns. Cover everything with water, put the lid on and boil. Then simmer all day long or for a couple days until I’m ready to make my soup. Drain off stock for use and then add:

1 T curry paste,  1 T coconut aminos or soy sauce, 2 T fish sauce, 1 t coriander, 1 t lemongrass,  2 cups homemade coconut milk (or canned), grated garlic+ginger. Season with salt and pepper and add in tons of chopped veggies (carrots, broccoli, peppers…whatever you have on hand) This time I peeled zucchini to make “noodles” and it was delicious! Top with chill flakes, toasted cashews and fresh coriander. Serve with a side of rice. My kids love this one!

Leave a Reply

